A Day in London: Closing Chapter

LondoSjyLines

So by now, you already know that I’m so in love with London! it is one of my long life childhood dreams that came to life in a matter of one day!

If you have been traveling looking for historical places, you will always end up riding one of these hop-on-hop-off buses and it was definitely a life saver. My next stop was Oxford circus, and man wow! the lighting after spending sometime in the Tube and all the shinny shops and expensive places, they were all screaming and I got lost inside the people’s wave getting off the underground.

So I found a small souvenir cabinet that sells the tickets for a hop-on-hop-off bus called “BIG BUS B London” with a great selection of places. I selected the following route: starting from Oxford Circus through Hamleys to Piccadilly Circus, Haymarket, Trafalgar Square, Craig’s court, Whitehall and decided to hop off at Westminster Bridge.

IMAG5235

Wow! just wow, seeing Downing St. and Westminster Palace with the gorgeous Perpendicular Gothic style is just a mind blowing experience. Big Ben was standing out there shouting to me and I just enjoyed myself to the fullest.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Hop-on-hop-off tickets gives you a free ride on a cruise across the Thames river. By the time I enjoyed myself looking across Westminster bridge, enjoying the sun on a cold December day, I was full of joy, full of life🙂

I kept wandering around the Eye of London area. Went in to see if I can secure a ride but hell no… the lines didn’t end, long lines of people ahead of me and there was no way to anticipate how long this waiting will take. The financial manager in the hosting company I visited in Cardiff advised me not to go to these well-knows sites as it will consume the whole day, his parents waited a whole day to get into the Shard! So I took his advise and weaved myself outta the place.

The cruise was just waiting for me and I took my late breakfast on the boat. The most confusing experience like these are usually how to capture these moments through the camera and looking around for real through your own eyes. I’ve gotta say, since I started taking pictures whenever I traveled, I felt that I didn’t enjoy the thing as much as before. Lots of these memories had gone and what is left is these memories on my laptop! they would say that this is the main reason for photography, however, I know as you know for sure, we are missing a lot looking around through a camera lens.

Most the picture I took inside were not that Awesome, however, the boat narrator was really amazing and thanks to him for all the information I learned cursing the Thames. The route we took was: London Eye, Cleopatra’s needle, Waterloo Bridge, Royal National Theatre, Millennium Bridge, Shakspeare’s Globe Theatre, Southwark Bridge, London Bridge, The Monument, The Shard, City Hall, Tower of London and lastly The Tower Bridge.

I went down at the Tower of London and started pondering around. The sun was really amazing and I was feeling cozy and comfy wandering around taking pictures like crazy. I decided not to get into the castle but wandering looking at the river bank and moving towards the Tower Bridge. What I found was a little sad story! After taking some selfie pictures, I forgot to switch the camera back and since I developed a habit of taking pictures walking without looking actually through the camera, I ended up with lots of half pictures of myself and half an eye!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Walking towards the Tower bridge, you would start seeing the world in a different way. I guess I always loved looking at water (given that Jordan has water resources problems, seeing any form of water is always a blast, something not much people cherish to have!). The view from the top is stunning, I started to video tape this trip, it is definitely one of the best adventures I gone through so far!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On the other side of the bridge, I went to a get some coffee and wandered back to the cruise and went back again to the underground through the Temple station. Back again on the run and it is almost 4 o’clock running around these places. My next stop was, yup, of course, I won’t miss it! It was the Kings Cross😀

After jumping between a number of trains (it became my joy to wander around the Tube from one train to the other :D) I finally reached my destination. After passing some security checks, I kept walking and walking to find myself passing towards the trains area! I felt stupid for a moment before motioning back and asking some of the security guards about the place! and here I was, finally standing at Platform 9 3/4!

After waiting for almost an hour, my turn came to take a picture behind the wheels🙂 it was again a dream came true🙂 luckily, these guys have a shop just next this platform, where I got a Gryffindor scarf. It was really expensive (£32.99) so it was the only thing I get from there. However, no regrets, I wear it till now almost everyday to work🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I couldn’t resist the attempt to go out while the day is wrapping up and the night is falling. On the way back to Paddington station, I stopped once again at the Sherlock Holmes museum and bought more stuff😀 (I told you I became an expert)

It was really AWESOME meeting you London! Insha’Allah, I will visit you once again in my life🙂

3 thoughts on “A Day in London: Closing Chapter

  1. Pingback: A year from around the world! | ishraq fataftah
  2. I’m glad you had fun in London!🙂 It’s quite a lovely city with endless things to explore. Your comments about camera resonated with me…Sometimes, we worry too much about capturing moments that we forget to live in them.

Leave a Reply

